Selbstportrait | Regie: Robert Passini | Filmstill | Daniela Kong

SELF-PORTRAIT

Short film | 17 minutes | Vienna Film School | 2004

Cast: Daniela Kong | Daniela Klaßen | Faris Rahoma | Georg Hauke | Eva Reinold | Paul Mairböck | Gabriele Mairböck | Stefan Marcello

Screenplay & director: Robert Passini
Cinematographer: Klemens Koscher
Composer: Anna Malek
Sound recordist: Matthias Ermert
Art director: Sabine Pleyel
Costume designer: Carola Pizzini
Makeup artists: Tanja Schraff | Anja Möller

© Klemens Koscher

CONTENT

It’s raining outside, while inside the castle it is warm and sheltered. The vernissage is successful, many people come and praise the artist Anna for her work: a series of self-portraits. The buffet is prepared, the guests are eating and chatting.

Anna stands in front of a glass door, the only view outside, and looks out into the park. Everything is wet. A face appears, Anna is startled. The face belongs to Susan. She just stands there, rigid and threatening. Anna seems to know Susan, and her presence is obviously unpleasant for Anna. She draws the curtain, none of the guests have seen her.

But Susan won’t be locked out and appears in the gallery. Anna becomes restless. Subsequently Susan studies the paintings and feels them. Susan seems out of place among the other guests.

Later, the two stand opposite each other. Anna keeps a good face towards the evil game while Susan verbally attacks her. She sees the vernissage, Anna's art and her life as one big lie.

Outside in the open air, in all the wetness that the rain has created, Anna is alone with her thoughts. Is Susan perhaps right? Anna finds her behind the castle. She provokes and insults Susan. A fight develops between the two rivals.

DIRECTOR'S STATEMENT

Visual arts are the main theme of this short film. Therefore, the staged images – like the portraits on the walls of the exhibition – seem like snapshots: the artist Anna stands in the room in front of her own portrait, which she observes; her partner looks at one of the paintings and thus becomes a seemingly motionless image himself; a photographer flashes into the camera more often, whereupon the film image becomes a photograph.

The only figure that is moving is a little boy who seems like a stranger at the exhibition opening. As if rehearsed, the guests follow the course of the vernissage: they listen to a flute and seem to be in a trance, followed by a short speech, to which they applaud until the buffet is finally stormed.

The graffiti artist Susan, on the other hand, stirs up this dramaturgy. She comes from “outside” where it's raining, touches a painting which is considered frowned upon, and expresses solidarity with the boy. But she is the one who accuses Anna of lying. She is the one who brings movement and color into the gallery. And she is the one who shakes Anna up and makes her think about her own art.

The experimentally narrated film shows the story of two rivals who stand for two motivations of art making: the acquisition of recognition versus the necessity of social change.

TRAILER

SELBSTPORTRAIT

Self-Portrait | Kurzspielfilm | 17 Minuten | Filmschule Wien | 2004

Cast: Daniela Kong | Daniela Klaßen | Faris Rahoma | Georg Hauke | Eva Reinold | Paul Mairböck | Gabriele Mairböck | Stefan Marcello

Drehbuch & Regie: Robert Passini
Kamera: Klemens Koscher
Musik: Anna Malek
Ton: Matthias Ermert
Ausstattung: Sabine Pleyel
Kostüm: Carola Pizzini
Maske: Tanja Schraff | Anja Möller

© Klemens Koscher

INHALT

Draußen regnet es, im Schloss ist es warm und geschützt. Die Vernissage ist erfolgreich, viele Menschen kommen und loben die Künstlerin Anna für ihr Werk: eine Reihe von Selbstportraits. Das Buffet ist bereitet, die Gäste unterhalten sich, essen, plaudern, genießen.

Anna steht vor einer Glastür, dem einzigen Blick ins Freie, und sieht in den Park hinaus. Alles ist nass. Da taucht ein Gesicht auf, Anna erschrickt. Das Gesicht gehört zu Susan. Sie steht einfach da, starr und bedrohlich. Anna scheint Susan zu kennen, und ihre Anwesenheit ist Anna sichtbar unangenehm. Sie zieht den Vorhang zu, niemand der Gäste hat sie gesehen.

Doch Susan lässt sich nicht aussperren und taucht in der Galerie auf. Anna wird unruhig. In weiterer Folge studiert Susan die Gemälde und befühlt sie. Dabei wirkt Susan fremd unter den anderen Gästen.

Später stehen die beiden einander gegenüber. Anna behält gute Miene zum bösen Spiel, während Susan sie verbal attackiert. Sie hält die Vernissage, Annas Kunst und ihr Leben für eine einzige Lüge.

Draußen im Freien, in all der Nässe, die der Regen erzeugt hat, ist Anna alleine mit ihren Gedanken. Hat Susan vielleicht Recht? Anna findet sie hinter dem Schloss. Sie wird provokant und beschimpft Susan. Es entsteht ein Kampf der beiden Rivalinnen.

REGIESTATEMENT

Bildende Kunst steht im Vordergrund dieses Kurzfilmes. Daher wirken die inszenierten Bilder – gleich den Portraits an den Wänden der Ausstellung – wie Momentaufnahmen: die Künstlerin Anna steht im Raum vor ihrem eigenen Porträt, das sie beobachtet; ihr Partner betrachtet eines der Gemälde und wird dadurch selbst zum scheinbar unbewegten Abbild; ein Fotograf blitzt öfter in die Kamera, worauf das Filmbild zum Foto wird.

Die einzige Figur, die (sich) bewegt, ist ein kleiner Junge, der auf der Vernissage wie ein Fremder wirkt. Denn die Gäste folgen wie einstudiert dem Ablauf der Ausstellungseröffnung: Sie lauschen einem Flötenstück und wirken dabei wie in Trance, es folgt eine Kurzrede, zu der applaudiert wird, bis endlich das Buffet gestürmt wird.

Die Graffitikünstlerin Susan hingegen wirbelt diese Dramaturgie auf. Sie kommt von „außen“, wo es regnet, berührt ein Gemälde, was als verpönt gilt und solidarisiert sich mit dem Jungen. Doch sie ist es, die Anna der Lebenslüge bezichtigt. Sie ist es, die Bewegung und Farbe in die Galerie bringt. Und sie ist es, die Anna aufrüttelt und sie zum Nachdenken über ihre eigene Kunst bewegt.

Der experimentell erzählte Film zeigt die Geschichte zweier Rivalinnen, die für zwei Motivationen des Kunstschaffens stehen: der Erwerb von Anerkennung gegenüber der Notwendigkeit der gesellschaftlichen Veränderung.

TRAILER