Der Wandler | Regie: Robert Passini | Filmstill | Michael Graf

THE SHAPESHIFTER

Feature film | 48 minutes | Mystery thriller | Koscher/Ladengruber/Passini Production | 2012

Cast: Michael Graf | Anne Mertin | Flo Staffelmayr | Karin Koller

Directors: Robert Passini | Andreas Ladengruber
Cinematographer: Klemens Koscher
Production designer: Pia Juliane Jaros

Sound recordist: Dominik Schlager

Gaffer: Alex Püringer | Dieter Blochberger
Makeup artist & costume designer: Heidi Holzinger
Composer: Iva Zabkar

© Klemens Koscher

CONTENT

It's a harmless book Manuel reads: It's about a mad axe murderer. It's a fictional story – isn't it? The reading captivates him almost hypnotically and he falls more and more into the reality of this story. All of a sudden, absurd images appear to him that are connected to his past. By the time he begins to understand their meaning, it is already too late – the boundaries of reality shift and a nightmare begins that can no longer be stopped.

“The Shapeshifter” is an unconventional, dark mixture of film noir and mystery thriller, which tells the story of a man's struggle against madness in black and white pictures with a pinch of black humor.
Elaborate production and picturesque old town locations characterize this movie, which balances between drama and surrealism, while at the same time uncompromisingly following its own formal language. A delight for film aesthetes and lovers of subtle suspense.

DIRECTOR'S STATEMENT

The movie “The Shapeshifter” contains philosophical, human questions, which cause alienation but also astonishment: How is it possible that the nice neighbor next door is supposed to be a cold-blooded murderer; that a person who seems perfectly normal in everyday life is fighting a lonely war against himself; that reality is only such a thin web that threatens to tear apart in some people and makes us look into abysses that we otherwise only know from nightmares?

The protagonist's inner conflict and the state of his soul are made visible through the house and the labyrinthine corridors and rooms of the apartment where most of the movie's action takes place. Unusual angles of the camera, harsh contrasts of the black and white images, the increasing narrowing of the image sizes as well as a spherically oblique and at the same time minimalist soundtrack condense the atmosphere of the film from minute to minute. In this way, the main character's own cramped world, from which he cannot find his way out, is made palpable. Reality and madness approach each other continuously until they can't be kept apart anymore.

PRODUCTION

Robert Passini, Andreas Ladengruber and Klemens Koscher realized the movie in their own production. They received financial support from the cultural institutions of the city of Vienna, the city of Graz, the Styrian and the Upper Austria governments. The commitment and perseverance of the team of over 60 people made this film possible. The film was shot in Vienna and in Graz from April to November 2009, with audio and video post-production taking place in 2010 and 2011.

EXPLOITATION

  • Premiere | Burgkino Vienna | 12th April 2012

  • Graz-Premiere | Film Centre at the Rechbauerkino Graz | 21st April 2012

  • Cinema Gröbming | Summer 2012

  • TV channel Austria 9 | 2nd July 2012

  • Cinema announcement on kino.at

TRAILER

DER WANDLER

The Shapeshifter | Spielfilm | 48 Minuten | Mystery-Thriller | Koscher/Ladengruber/Passini Produktion | 2012

Cast: Michael Graf | Anne Mertin | Flo Staffelmayr | Karin Koller

Regie: Robert Passini | Andreas Ladengruber
Kamera: Klemens Koscher
Szenenbild: Pia Juliane Jaros

Ton: Dominik Schlager

Oberlicht: Alex Püringer | Dieter Blochberger
Maske & Kostüm: Heidi Holzinger
Musik: Iva Zabkar

© Klemens Koscher

INHALT

Eigentlich ist es ein harmloses Buch, das Manuel liest: Es handelt von einem wahnsinnigen Axtmörder. Eine fiktive Geschichte – oder etwa nicht? Die Lektüre fesselt ihn fast hypnotisch und er kippt mehr und mehr in die Realität dieser Erzählung. Mit einem Mal erscheinen ihm absurde Bilder, die etwas mit seiner Vergangenheit zu tun haben. Als er anfängt, ihren Sinn zu verstehen, ist es bereits zu spät – die Grenzen der Wirklichkeit verschieben sich und ein Albtraum beginnt, der sich nicht mehr aufhalten lässt.

„Der Wandler“ ist eine unkonventionelle, düstere Mischung aus Film-Noir und Mystery-Thriller, die in Schwarz-weiß-Bildern mit einer Prise schwarzem Humor die Geschichte vom Kampf eines Menschen gegen den Wahnsinn erzählt.

Aufwändige Produktion und malerische Altstadt-Schauplätze zeichnen diesen Film aus, der die Waage hält zwischen Drama und Surrealismus und dabei kompromisslos seiner eigenen Formensprache folgt. Ein Genuss für Filmästheten und Liebhaber subtiler Spannung.

REGIESTATEMENT

Im Film „Der Wandler“ stecken philosophische, menschliche Fragen, die Befremdung aber auch Staunen auslösen: Wie ist es möglich, dass der nette Nachbar von nebenan ein kaltblütiger Mörder sein soll; dass ein Mensch, der im alltäglichen Umgang völlig normal erscheint, in seinem Inneren einen einsamen Krieg gegen sich selbst ausficht; dass die Wirklichkeit nur ein derart dünnes Geflecht ist, das bei manchen Menschen zu zerreißen droht und uns in Abgründe sehen lässt, die wir sonst nur aus Albträumen kennen?

Der innere Konflikt des Protagonisten und sein Seelenzustand werden sichtbar gemacht durch das Haus und die labyrinthartig angeordneten Gänge und Räume der Wohnung, in der die meiste Handlung des Films spielt. Ungewohnte Blickwinkel der Kamera, harte Kontraste der Schwarz-weiß-Bilder, die zunehmende Einengung der Bildgrößen sowie ein sphärisch-schräger und zugleich minimalistischer Soundtrack verdichten die Atmosphäre des Films von Minute zu Minute. So wird die eigene beengte Welt, aus der die Hauptfigur nicht herausfindet, spürbar gemacht. Realität und Wahnsinn nähern sich kontinuierlich an, bis sie nicht mehr auseinander gehalten werden können.

PRODUKTION

Robert Passini, Andreas Ladengruber und Klemens Koscher realisierten den Film in Eigenproduktion. Finanzielle Unterstützung erhielten sie von den Kultureinrichtungen der Stadt Wien, der Stadt Graz, dem Land Steiermark und dem Land Oberösterreich. Das Engagement und die Ausdauer des über 60-köpfigen Teams machten diesen Film möglich. Gedreht wurde in Wien und in Graz von April bis November 2009. Die Bild- und Ton-Nachbearbeitung fanden in den Jahren 2010 und 2011 statt.

VERWERTUNG

  • Premiere | Burgkino Wien | 12. April 2012

  • Graz-Premiere | Filmzentrum im Rechbauerkino Graz | 21. April 2012

  • Kino Gröbming | Sommer 2012

  • TV-Sender Austria 9 | 2. Juli 2012

  • Kino-Ankündigung auf kino.at

TRAILER